OCS Auto Racing

Craig Moore wins Ring Memorial at OCS

chnsports@nando.comAugust 27, 2013 

— Craig Moore was the story from start to finish in Saturday night’s running of the Paul Ring Memorial 100 at Orange County Speedway. Moore won the pole and proceeded to lead all 100 laps of the featured late-model event.

Moore won for the third time in five late-model races this season at the OCS, but for the first time since May 25.

He was runner-up behind Terry Dease on June 29, and Saturday night’s racing was the first since then due to multiple rainouts.

Moore’s third victory in five 2013 races pushed him into an unofficial one-point lead in standings for the track championship over Tripp Massengill, who finished second Saturday night.

Massengill was the runner-up for the fourth time this year.

His worst finish so far this year was third on June 29.

“There’s not another person (than Massengill) that I would rather race for this championship,” Moore said in victory lane. “Looks like it’s going to go right down to the wire.”

A multiple car crash on lap 40 eliminated the cars of Dease and Chris Davis, bringing out a red flag. Brandon Baker was one of those involved, but made repairs and charged from the back of the pack to take third place.

That was Baker’s second trip to the podium Saturday night. Shortly before the late-model race, he won the preceding 35-lap feature for limited sportsmen.

In his limited win, Baker outdueled Jerry Hinesley after the front-running cars of Daniel Moss and Justin Newlin were eliminated in a pileup on the three-eighth-mile track.

In the night’s other races:

•  Jason Warsing won for the fourth time in the track’s street stock division;

•  Junior Chrisco survived a great battle with Anthony Bennett to score a mini super truck win;

•  Jack Milam edged Lane Riggs and Mike Milam in the pure stock class. (Notably, Lane Riggs is the son of NASCAR star Scott Riggs.)

• And Jordan Pickeral won for a third time in the bandoleros.

Drivers are scheduled to return Saturday night for six events at the Orange County Speedway, headlined by the late model stock race, plus a limited sportsman event, pure stock, street stock, super mini trucks and bandos.

Unofficial results

Late model (100 laps)

1, Craig Moore. 2, Tripp Massengill. 3, Brandon Baker. 4, Kiel Spaulding. 5, Mason Hudson. 6, Mike Chambers. 7, Bobby Griffin 8, Daniel Moss. 9, Terry Dease. 10, Chris Davis. 11 Chris Denny. 12, Billy Martin.

Limited late model (35 laps)

1, Brandon Baker. 2, Jerry Hinesley. 3, Daniel Schadt. 4, Dennis Sargent Jr. 5, Casey Pope. 6, Justin Newlin. 7, Chad Pergerson 8, Daniel Moss. 9, Chris Henderson. 10, Donald Brace.

Street stock (25 laps)

1, Jason Warsing 2. Richard Hayden. 3, Coy Purnell. 4, James Peery. 5, Jamie Ruddock. 6, Michael Smith.

Pure stock (25 laps)

1, Jack Milam. 2, Lane Riggs. 3, Mike Milam. 4, Jarrett Milam. 5, Jerry Wilkerson. 6, Corey Whitley. 7, Chase Sandefur 8, D.J. Moser. 9, Brandon Watson. 10, Brandon Baker.

Super mini trucks

1, Junior Chrisco. 2, Anthony Bennett. 3, Wesley Martin. 4, Michael Whitt. 5, Scott Martin. 6, David Weinhart. 7, Jeffrey Martin 8, Johnny Martin. 9, Ray Chrisco.


1, Jordan Pickeral. 2, Cody Wiles.

Staley: 919-932-8743

Chapel Hill News is pleased to provide this opportunity to share information, experiences and observations about what's in the news. Some of the comments may be reprinted elsewhere in the site or in the newspaper. We encourage lively, open debate on the issues of the day, and ask that you refrain from profanity, hate speech, personal comments and remarks that are off point. Thank you for taking the time to offer your thoughts.

Commenting FAQs | Terms of Service