Moore, Massengill are still neck and neck in points race

ewarnock@newsobserver.comSeptember 3, 2013 

  • More information


    Late Models: 1, Craig Moore. 2, Tripp Massengill. 3, Brandon Baker. 4, Mike Chambers. 5, Terry Dease. 6, Billy Martin. 7, Mark Oakley. 8, Mason Hudson. 9, Chris Denny. 10, Chuck Lawson. 11, Chris Davis. 12, Daniel Moss.

    Limiteds: 1, Brandon Baker. 2, Jerry Hinesley. 3, Donald Brace. 4, Casey Pope. 5, Dennis Sargent. 6, Daniel Moss. 7, Daniel Schadt. Chris Henderson DNS; Chad Pergerson DNS.

    Street Stocks: 1, Richard Hayden. 2, Jason Warsing. 3, Michael Smith. 4, Coy Purnell. 5, Dave Winsett. 6, James Perry.

    Pure Stocks: 1, Layne Riggs. 2, Chase Sandefur. 3, Jarrett Milam. 4, Brian Obundski. 5, Brandon Watson. 6, Corey Whitley. 7, DJ Moser.

    Super Mini Trucks: 1, Anthony Bennett. 2, David Wenhart. 3, Jeffrey Martin. 4, Wesley Martin. 5, Michael Whitt. 6, Scott Martin.

— Craig Moore and Tripp Massengill seem to be headed towards a season finish as close as any race they've been in this year.

The pair of late-model stock car drivers are six points apart unofficially after another 1-2 finish last weekend at the Orange County Speedway.

Moore was the winner for the fourth time in six races as he claimed a 75-lap late model stock car feature Saturday at Orange County Speedway. After a late caution, Moore outran Massengill in an eight-lap dash for the win.

Two notable incidents in the event came on lap 37 when Chris Davis and Daniel Moss crashed in turn two and on lap 68 when Mason Hudson lost a transmission.

Moore and Massengill have finished 1-2 each of the four times Moore won this season at the three-eighths-mile track. Massengill has never finished worse that third so far this year.

Brandon Baker was third last Saturday, followed by Mike Chambers and Terry Dease. Terry, who won June 22 at OCS, held onto third place in the points standings, unofficially with 262 to Moore's 298 and Massengill's 292.

In other races at the OCS, Layne Riggs, son of NASCAR veteran Scott Riggs, started on the pole for the second time in his two-race Pure Stock career. After a mid-race rain delay, Riggs got shuffled all the way from the lead to fifth place on the restart. But he battled back through the field to take his first career victory.

In Limiteds, Brandon Baker took home his second victory in a row over the 46 machine of Jerry Hinesly. Daniel Moss led late in the race, but he spun off of turn two on lap No. 32 while trying to hold off Baker. Baker and points-leader Hinesly fought to the finish and beyond. Asked about the points race Baker, pointed at over at Hinesly and said, "We're coming for you Jerry."

In Street Stocks, Richard Hayden led all the way, but had to survive a late charge from Jason Warsing to win the 25-lap event. The two crossed the line in a virtual photo finish under the checkered flag, with Hayden's car nearly spinning into the inside first turn wall after the two made contact just past the finish line.

In Super Mini Trucks, Anthony Bennett survived a wild 20-lap race, outrunning David Weinhart and Jeffrey Martin for the win. Bennett and Wesley Martin battled side by side for the lead in the early laps and collided together on lap No. 9, sending Wesley Martin into the inside wall on the front stretch. Wesley returned to the race with only minor damage and seemed headed for a runner-up finish after charging through the field late, only to lose power on the final lap.

In the Bandolero division, Cody Wiles took the win, followed by Jordan Pickrel and Ethan Johnson.

Warnock: 919-932-8743

Chapel Hill News is pleased to provide this opportunity to share information, experiences and observations about what's in the news. Some of the comments may be reprinted elsewhere in the site or in the newspaper. We encourage lively, open debate on the issues of the day, and ask that you refrain from profanity, hate speech, personal comments and remarks that are off point. Thank you for taking the time to offer your thoughts.

Commenting FAQs | Terms of Service